City Council

The City of Jacksonville operates under a Mayor/Council form of government and is a home rule municipality.  Jacksonville was officially chartered February 15, 1867 and incorporated as a city on April 4, 1887.  Its population is 19,446, according to the 2010 Census.  The Mayor is the chief elected official.  The Mayor, City Clerk and City Treasurer are elected by the registered voters of Jacksonville for four-year terms. The Jacksonville City Council is the legislative body of the City and is comprised of the Mayor and ten council members.  Two council members, or alderman, from each of the five wards within the City are elected to four-year terms.  Terms are staggered whereby one council member from each of the five wards are elected every two years. 

Through the legal advice of the City Attorney, the City Council, with the support of the Mayor, establishes policies and adopts city ordinances and resolutions that establish the laws for the City government and the City Council provides direction on services and projects that address the City's needs.  Council members also approve expenditures and set budgets.

City Council meetings are held the second and fourth Monday of each month beginning at 6:00 p.m. with the regular Workshop session followed by the regular City Council meeting, but no later than 7:00 p.m.  Both meetings are conducted at City Hall, 2nd floor, 200 West Douglas, Jacksonville, IL.

All meetings, unless otherwise noted, are open to the public and all meetings are published on the City's website calendar.

Citizens have the opportunity to speak on city issues during the Public Comment portion of the Workshop Session and/or the City Council meeting.  Please refer to the Public Comment Policy adopted by the City of Jacksonville on March 25, 2013 regarding expectations for participants.

Public hearings are scheduled as separate items from the regular City Council agenda and public comments are invited at public hearings.